Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Beach Preservation in South Carolina in 2017
Location: Edisto Hall
Session Chair: Tim Goodwin, Chair, SC Beach Advocates, and Mayor City of Folly Beach

8:30     Welcome
            Mayor Tim Goodwin, Chair South Carolina Beach Advocates & City of Folly Beach

8:40     2017 State Legislative Session update & outlook for beaches
             Senator Sandy Senn, S.C. Senate

9:00     2017 Happenings in State Beach Management
             Elizabeth von Kolnitz, Chief, SC DHEC Ocean & Coastal Resource Management (OCRM)

9:30     Navigating Post-Disaster Challenges in South Carolina
             Elizabeth Ryan, Chief of Recovery and Mitigation, South Carolina Emergency Mgmt Division

10:00               BREAK

10:30   FEMA Coastal Flood Study for South Carolina: Implications for Beach Communities
            Jessica Artz, SC DNR Flood Mitigation Specialist

            Chris Mack, Coastal Services Program Manager, AECOM

10:50   Southeast Coastal Assessment (SCA): Creating the Shared Vision
             Jackie Keiser, CSA Program Manager, Jacksonville District, USACE
             Diane Perkins, Planning and Environmental Branch Chief, Charleston District, USACE

11:10   North Carolina Beach & Inlet Mmgt Plan: Evaluation for a Dedicated Beach Nourishment Fund
           Robert Neal, Project Manager, Moffatt and Nichol

11:30               Annual Luncheon, Sponsored by ATM

12:30               South Carolina Beach Advocates 2017 Membership Meeting
            2018 Board of Directors Election & Dedication of the Bill Otis Award
            Sponsored by Coastal Science & Engineering

1:00     Beach Preservation on Folly Beach: Past and Present
            Spencer Wetmore, City Administrator, City of Folly Beach
            Wes Wilson, Project Manager, USACE Charleston District

1:30     2017 Federal Coastal and Navigation Update
Lt. Col. Jeffrey Palazzini, Commander & District Engineer, USACE Charleston District

1:50     Panel Discussion: 2017 Revisions to SC DHEC-OCRM’s Beachfront Jurisdictional Baselines and Setback Lines
Moderator: Bill Eiser, Eiser Coastal Consulting
Mary Shahid, Nexsen Pruet
Leslie Lenhardt, Lenhardt Law Firm

3:00                 BREAK, Sponsored by Gahagan Bryant Associates, Inc.

3:30     2017 S.C. Beach Preservation Updates
Town of Hilton Head Island 2017, Irma-Impacted, FEMA-funded, Post-Matthew Recovery Project
            Scott P. Liggett, Director of Public Projects & Facilities/Chief Engineer

Edisto Beach Nourishment and Groin Lengthening Project
            Mayor Jane Darby, Town of Edisto Beach
            Steven Traynum, Coastal Science & Engineering

Myrtle Beach Federal Beach Renourishment Project, Reach 1 and 3
             Jim Wood, Director of Planning and Development, City of North Myrtle Beach
             Andy Markunas, Engineering Department Head, Horry County
             Wes Wilson, Project Manager, USACE Charleston District

Murrells Inlet Dredging, Garden City, Huntington Beach State Park Nourishment
              James Coley, Engineering Capital Projects Planner, Georgetown County
              Wes Wilson, Project Manager, USACE Charleston District

Thursday, November 9, 2017
Session Chair: Linda Tucker, Director, SC Beach Advocates & Administrator, Isle of Palms
8:30     Breakfast sponsored by Marinex Construction

8:50     Post-Storm Damage Assessments of Beachfront Structures
             Sean Briggs, Compliance & Enforcement Manager, SCDHEC-OCRM

             Heath Hansell, Coastal Engineer, ATM

9:10     2017 State Budget for Beach Preservation
            Phil Gaines, State Park Director, S.C. Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism

9:30     Resilience and Adaptation Planning on South Carolina Beaches
Moderator: Dan Burger, Director Coastal Services Division, SCDHEC-OCRM

Kirstin Dow, Professor of Geography, University of South Carolina
Spencer Wetmore, Administrator, City of Folly Beach
Ginnie Kozak, Lowcountry Council of Governments
Keil Schmid, Geoscience Consultants, LLC
Bennett Jones, Enough Pie

10:50   Awards Presentation: Sponsored by Manson Construction
            South Carolina Beach Advocates Friend of the Coast Award
Senator George E. “Chip” Campsen
Rep. William G. “Bill” Herbkersman
Panel on South Carolina Offshore Resources
11:00   South Carolina Offshore Sediment Resources Inventory
            Katie Luciano, Geologist, S.C. Department of Natural Resources, Geological Survey
            Andrew Tweel, Assistant Marine Scientist, SCDNR, Marine Resources Research Institute

11:15   Overview of The Nature Conservancy (TNC) Offshore Natural Resource Mapping Activities
            Liz Fly, Marine Conservation Director, TNC

11:30   SODA: Stop Offshore Drilling in the Atlantic
            John Thomas, Council Member, Georgetown County

 11:45   Panel Discussion

12:00               Adjourn

Thank you to our Sponsors!

 November 8-9, 2017

2017 Annual Meeting

James Island County Park, SC

​Resilience & Adaptation in the Wake of Irma